Ulriksdal Palace

The Orangery Museum

Centrally located in the Ulriksdal Palace grounds beside the palace itself lies the greenhouse built in 1600s. Nowadays the Orangery houses the best of Swedish sculpture.

During the “Great Power" era in Sweden citrus fruit was expensive and exclusive and embellished the Royal Court's banquets. At Ulriksdal a lavish Orangery was built.

The present Orangery was built at the end of the 1600s by Nicodemus Tessin the Younger by commission of Queen Dowager Hedvig Eleonora. Despite a number of later changes, Tessin's architecture still dominates the Orangery.

National Museum's collection of Swedish sculpture

Nowadays, the Orangery has taken on another exciting function. From time immemorial sculpture has belonged with nature and today at the Orangery an exhibition of Swedish sculpture from the Swedish National Museum's collection can be viewed. The sculptures are from 1700s-1900s including works by Johan T. Sergel and Carl Milles, amongst others.

Read more about the sculptures in the museum

A change in room temperature in the greenhouse has required a compromise both in the choice and number of plants. Still today, however, historic trees and shrubs are grown that enrich the visitor's experience at the Orangery Museum with form, colour and fragran.

Photos: Kate Gabor/Royalpalaces.se

The Orangery Museum has sculptures from the National Museum's collections that are on permanent display here.

The Orangery Museum was made possible thanks to HM The King's decision in 1988 to make the Orangery available as a sculpture museum.

In 18th century Sweden, sculpting was dominated by the French craftsmen who had come to work on the new Royal Palace of Stockholm.

Visit us

Join the guided tours and hear about the palace’s royal history, the history of the building itself and the preserved furnishings.

Read more

For larger groups, we recommend a pre-booked tour with your own guide. Guided tours can be given in Swedish, simple Swedish or English.

Read more

Discover more at Ulriksdal Palace

A tour of Ulriksdal Palace gives the visitor an exciting view of interior design spanning from the 1600s to the 1900s. On view are rooms ...

Read more

Centrally located in the Ulriksdal Palace grounds beside the palace itself lies the greenhouse built in 1600s. Nowadays the Orangery hous...

Read more

From the time that Jakob dela Gardie built a palace by Edsviken strand, some form of garden and park has also existed at Ulriksdal.

Read more

Sweden's oldest Rococo theatre, which dates back to 1753, offers both performances and guided tours. In 1976, Princess Christina showed t...

Read more

Ulriksdal Palace has had a chapel since 1662. At that time a chapel was built in the palace's northern wing by architect Jean de la Vallé...

Read more

The Orangery in Ulriksdal Palace Park is housing sale from the Royal Gift Shop. You will also find visit information about the attraction...

Read more

Articles and movies

In 1923, the newlywed Crown Prince Gustaf (VI) Adolf and Louise Mountbatten moved into Ulriksdal Palace. What they asked for as a wedding...

Read more

Queen Kristina's coronation was highly controversial. She chose not to be crowned in the traditional location, and refused to wear the Qu...

Read more

Discover the Royal parks! Here, nature meets culture and history meets the present day. The parks are open every day of the year, 24 hour...

Read more

Customer service

Opening hours: Closed